If you have committed certain traffic violations in Nevada, you may be required to obtain an SR-22. An SR-22 is a Certificate of Financial Responsibility (CFR) that is filed by your insurance company, on your behalf, to the DMV. Filing an SR-22 form does not provide a driver with insurance, rather it certifies that you are carrying the required minimum levels of liability insurance on your auto insurance policy. Insurance 4 Less LLC specializes in helping drivers throughout Paradise, Henderson, and Spring Valley with their SR-22 insurance needs.
Drivers in Nevada may be required to file an SR-22 form if they have been convicted of any of the following traffic violations:
- Driving without insurance
- Driving with a suspended license
- DUI or DWI
- Major traffic violations such as reckless driving
- Driving while uninsured or underinsured
An SR-22 requires drivers to meet the minimum liability insurance requirements established by the state.
Nevada Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements
- $25,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury for accidents involving multiple people
- $20,000 for property damage
An SR-22 certifies that you are carrying the minimum levels of insurance required by law, but you can of course purchase insurance that goes above and beyond these minimums. There are also a number of optional coverages that can be added to your policy including collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, roadside assistance/towing coverage, rental car coverage, loan/lease gap coverage, and more.
SR-22 filings can be classified as Owner-Operator SR-22, Operator SR-22, or Owner-SR-22. Operator SR-22s are for those who need coverage but do not own a vehicle. Owner SR-22s limit coverage only to the vehicle you own and listed on your policy. Owner-Operator SR-22s cover both your vehicle listed on your policy as well as any vehicles you drive not owned by you or a member of your household. If you are leasing or financing a vehicle, your lender will most likely require you to maintain coverage on the vehicle.
If you are required to file an SR-22 in Nevada, it must be maintained for a minimum of 3 years. During that time, your insurance policy cannot be cancelled for any reason. It is not uncommon for carriers to require that the policy be paid in full up front. Drivers required to file an SR-22 cannot file the SR-22 themselves. All notifications must come directly from the insurance company and they must notify the DMV of any cancellation or lapse in coverage for any reason.
At Insurance 4 Less LLC, we are committed to helping drivers find affordable SR-22 insurance throughout Paradise, Henderson, and Spring Valley. If you are required to file an SR-22 in Nevada, contact us today for more information or to see how we can help you!